Assembly Resources

Pre-Assembly Book
*Printed Materials Provided at Assembly
- Cover Page
- Welcome
- General Assembly Info
- Assembly Speakers
- *Agenda (DRAFT posted 5/27)
- *Workshops
- Assembly Procedures
- Parliamentary Procedure
- Roberts Rules of Order
- ELCA Presiding Bishop Eaton’s Report
- Bishop Anderson’s Report
- Synod Reports
- Roster Report
- We Remember
- *Resolution 15.01
- *Compensation Guidelines
- *Nominating Report
- Nominating Report - Supplement
- Proposed Budget 2015
- Financial Report
- Synod Map / Directions to Gustavus
- Gustavus Campus Map
- Gustavus Beck Hall Map
- News Release

Forms & Documents

- Assembly Voting Member Letter
- Guidelines for Synod Assembly Resolutions

- Supplementary Rules Regarding Nominations and Elections
- Balloting Procedure for Election of Bishop

Assembly Lay-Led Service

- Service of the Word
- Sermon by Bishop Jon V. Anderson (PDF)
- Video Sermon by Bishop Jon V. Anderson

Click here to download video or view full screen. Please contact the synod office to request a DVD copy.


- ELCA Region 3
- ELCA Region 3 Camping Network
Partnership Ministries
- Green Lake Lutheran Ministries
- Lutheran Social Service
- Mission Investment Fund
- MN Council of Churches
- Pastor-2-Pastor
- Portico
- Shalom Hill Farm
- Shetek Lutheran Ministries
Synod Boards, Committess and Teams
- Companion Synod
- Endowment Committee
- Lutheran Men in Mission
- Lutheran Youth Organization
- Personnel Committee
- Synod Council Executive Committee
- Women of the ELCA
- Carthage College
- Concardia College
- Gustavus Adolphus College
- Luther College
- Wartburg College


2015 SW MN Synod Assembly
June 12-14, 2015
Gustavus Adolphus College St. Peter

We are excited to invite you to your 2015 Synod Assembly!

Once again being held on the campus of Gustavus Adolphus in
St. Peter, MN, your assembly will open on Friday, June 12 and close on Sunday, June 14, 2015. We are blessed to have Revered Dr. James Mauney of the Virginia Synod as our Bible Study leader this year. Secretary William Chris Boerger will be in attendance to guide our voting members through our synod bishop election. (Click here for more information about the bishop election.) Additionally, Secretary Boerger will brief us on what it means to be church together beyond our synod. Bishop Buthelezi, Southeastern Diocese of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Southern Africa, will also be one of our guest speakers. It is a blessing to have Bishop Buthelezi in our midst to bring us up to date on our companion synod.

assembly announcements

Online Evaluation Form - Click here!

Watch for assembly highlights soon.

2015 Bishop Election:
Bishop Jon Anderson elected to a third term for SW MN Synod Bishop.

Results of the first ballot for bishop:
- Rev. Jon Anderson - 314 VotesĀ 
- Rev. Paul Lutter - 11 Votes
- Rev. Steve Olson - 24 Votes
- Rev. Dr. Laurie Skow-Anderson - 115 Votes
- Rev. Lyle Snyder - 16 Votes
- Rev. Timothy Wittwer - 16 Votes

Results of the second ballot for bishop:
- Rev. Jon Anderson-349 Votes
- Rev. Steve Olson-21 Votes
- Rev. Dr. Laurie Skow-Anderson- 110 Votes
- Rev. Lyle Snyder- 27 Votes
- Rev. Timothy Wittwer- 8 Votes